I’m alive!

It’s been an extremely long time since I’ve posted anything to this blog. This life is pretty hectic and adjusting to it hasn’t been easy. And honestly, the longer I went without posting, the more intimidating the thought of writing a new post got. How could I possibly encapsulate all that has happened over the past several months? I’ve lived more in the past 7 months than I have in years. There have been so many places, people, thoughts, emotions, lessons, and overall experiences. To cover it all, I would have to write a novel-length post, and let’s face it, ain’t nobody got time for that. So for now, I will write what comes to my mind about it all, hold my breath, and hit that big scary “Publish” button.

Here we go…

In the past 7 months, we have been to 32 states and we’ve even been to Canada. I gotta say, North America is a seriously gorgeous place! I’ve seen mountains, plains, deserts, swamps, oceans, and forests. I’ve seen big cities, small cities, and places that showed no sign of human life at all. They all hold their own beauty. What’s even more amazing is that there is STILL so much I’ve yet to see in this country alone! I eagerly look forward to adding more beautiful new images to my memories. If you ever get the chance to drive across the US, I strongly encourage you to do it. We’ve taken lots of video and pictures of all of these different places, but the one thing that remains the same is that the videos and pictures never do them justice. You have to see them all with your own eyes to understand the breath-taking wonder that they hold.

I’ve met countless people. They all started as complete strangers, and now I call many of them friends. One of the most amazing and unexpected things that I’ve experienced in this life is the restoration of my faith in humanity. Prior to this life, I worked many retail jobs and I’ve even been a server. These jobs made me so cynical and jaded. I spent years seeing the worst sides of people. Thankfully, my perception has been completely changed. I’ve now experienced such kindness and love from people that I didn’t know. The entire couchsurfing community (which I will probably make a separate post about at some point) is proof that people still have the capacity to give and love without limits. If you want to experience a traveling community like no other, I HIGHLY recommend joining couchsurfing.com.

Alright, this seems like a decent enough place to stop for this post. I’ve got plenty of more things to say, but I think I’ll save them for future posts (that I hopefully will put up much sooner rather than later.)

Thank you for reading. 🙂

2 thoughts on “I’m alive!

  1. Your courage and perseverance in making your dream come true is inspiring. Few people would take the risk that you and Tomas have taken to give up the security of jobs and home to experience all that this world has to offer. You are blessed and a blessing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

