Soaking up Sun in Miami

For the past week and a half, we have been in Miami, Florida, and I have acquired many new freckles! This place has definitely earned a special place in my heart. With all the great food, art, and scenic views, it has blown me away.

Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 6.45.32 PM

(Nicaraguan food from Fritanga Monimbo)

Tom warned me about how delicious the food down here was, but I truly had no idea. Cuban and Nicaraguan food have become new favorites of mine (any style of food that has fried cheese as a dish, is beautiful to me.) I didn’t realize how much my home town was lacking in the way of hispanic foods. Also, I’ve never seen so many places with fried plantains in my entire life. Back in Nashville, Pollo Tropical is the only place I knew that had them, but here in Miami, they’re everywhere! If you haven’t tried them, you should give them (in all their sweet deliciousness) a shot. You’ll see why everywhere here has them! Also, Colada is liquid life. Words cannot express how much I have fallen for this incredible espresso. It is as bold as it is sweet. A couple of little shots of it is all you need to pep you up mid-day or after a meal. I already know that once I leave Miami, Colada is going to be one of the first things I miss.

IMG_1821

(Colada a.k.a. Cuban Crack)

If you ever go to Miami, you most definitely have to walk around the Wynwood Arts District. Beautiful art covers almost all of the buildings. Being there felt like a little slice of Wonderland.

Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 7.16.06 PM

I met a poet who had a typewriter set up at a Wood Tavern (a bar in Wynwood) who would write you a poem for donation. All you had to do was pic a name and 3 other words, and he began to quickly type away. He is the Biscayne Poet.

IMG_1833

 

And let’s not forget the beach! I got to experience Miami’s Southbeach for the very first time and I loved it! We went on a Monday afternoon, so it wasn’t completely packed with people. There’s nothing like letting the ocean carry you. So much beauty, power, peace, and pure energy, I happily soaked in all of it.

IMG_7495

I’m fortunate to have Tom here to guide me through all of this, because, unfortunately, I do not know Spanish. I have heard much more Spanish here than English. So for any of you who are thinking of visiting down here, you may want to brush up on a few of the basics to help get you around.

So despite being the worst traffic and most terrifying driving I’ve ever seen (I literally watched a guy stopped at a red light just randomly decide to drive through the intersection apparently not caring at all about the light), I still have adored being in this city! I greatly look forward to spending more time here in the future.

IMG_1880

Leave a Reply

